## ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

# අති විශේෂ The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

අංක 1918/8 - 2015 ජුනි මස 09 වැනි අඟහරුවාදා - 2015.06.09 No. 1918/8 - TUESDAY JUNE 09, 2015

(Published by Authority)

### PART I: SECTION (I) — GENERAL

#### **Government Notifications**

L.D.B 21/78 (xiii).

#### THE UNIVERSITIES ACT, No. 16 OF 1978

ORDINANCE made by the University Grants Commission under Section 23(2) read with Section 18 of the Universities Act, No. 16 of 1978.

Secretary, University Grants Commission.

Colombo, 09th June, 2015.

#### **Ordinance**

- 1. This Ordinance may be cited as Open University of Sri Lanka (Amendment) Ordinance, No. 02 of 2015 and shall come into force upon publication in the *Gazette*.
- 2. The Open University of Sri Lanka Ordinance, No. 1 of 1990 published in *Gazette Extraordinary* No. 591/18 of January 05, 1990 as last amended by Ordinance published in *Gazette Extraordinary* No. 1839/41 of December 05, 2013 is hereby further amended in paragraph 16, of the Ordinance as follows:-
  - (1) by the repeal of sub-paragraph (1) of that paragraph and the substitution there for, of the following:
    - "(1) The Open University shall have the following Faculties:-
      - (a) Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences;
      - (b) Faculty of Natural Sciences;
      - (c) Faculty of Engineering Technology;
      - (d) Faculty of Education; and
      - (e) Faculty of Health Sciences. ";



- (2) by the renumbering of sub paragraphs (6), (7) and (8) as sub paragraphs (7), (8) and (9) of that paragraph respectively; and
  - (3) by the insertion of the following new sub paragraph (6) immediately after sub paragraph (5) thereof :-
    - "(6) The Faculty of Health Sciences shall have the following Departments of Study:-
      - (i) Nursing;
      - (ii) Pharmacy;
      - (iii) Medical Laboratory Sciences;
      - (iv) Basic Sciences;
      - (v) Psychology and Counseling; and
      - (vi) Health Education and Research.".

06 - 606