

# ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

## ాది రెండి The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

අංක 2441/07 - 2025 ජුනි මස 17 වැනි අඟහරුවාදා - 2025.06.17 No. 2441/07 - TUESDAY, JUNE 17, 2025

(Published by Authority)

### PART I : SECTION (I) — GENERAL

#### **Government Notifications**

L.D.-B. 21/78 (XVI)(C)

#### THE UNIVERSITIES ACT, No. 16 OF 1978

ORDINANCE made by the University Grants Commission under Section 18 of the Universities Act, No. 16 of 1978.

Secretary,
University Grants Commission.

Colombo, 12th June, 2025.

#### **Ordinance**

The Swamy Vipulananda Institute of Aesthetic Studies Ordinance, No. 01 of 2005 published in *Gazette Extraordinary* No. 1396/4 of June 06, 2005 is hereby amended as follows:-

- (1) in subparagraph (g) of paragraph 4 thereof by the substitution for the words "studios, theatres and other buildings" of the words "studios, theatres, a printing centre, an art gallery and other buildings";
- (2) by the repeal of subparagraph (iii) of paragraph 5 thereof and the substitution therefor of the following: -
  - "(iii) Department of Studies;";



#### (3) in paragraph 7 thereof-

- (a) by the substitution in subparagraph (5) for the words 'the Registrar of the University" of the words "the Head of a Department of Study of the Institute nominated by the Board";
- (b) by the substitution in subparagraph (6) for the words "the Registrar of the University" of the words "the Head of a Department of Study of the Institute nominated by the Board";

#### (4) in paragraph 8 thereof -

- (a) by the substitution in subparagraph (1) for the words "the Board of Management" of the words "the Board";
- (b) by the substitution in subparagraph (3) for the words "the Board of Management" of the words "the Board";
- (c) by the substitution in subparagraph (5) for the words "the Vice Chancellor of the University" of the words "the Board";
- (5) by the repeal of subparagraph (1) of paragraph 9 thereof and the substitution therefor of the following: -
  - "(1) ex-officio members, namely: -
    - (a) the Director;
    - (b) the Secretary to the Ministry of the Minister assigned the subject of Education or his nominee;
    - (c) the Secretary to the Ministry of the Minister assigned the subject of Finance or his nominee;
    - (d) the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Culture of the Eastern University, Sri Lanka;
    - (e) Heads of each Department of Study of the Institute; and";

#### (6) in paragraph 10 thereof-

- (a) by the substitution in subparagraph (1) for the words "the Vice Chancellor of the University" of the words "the Director";
- (b) by the substitution in subparagraph (3) for the words "the Chairperson of the Commission, or the Vice Chancellor" of the words "the nominating or appointing authority,";

#### (7) in paragraph 12 thereof -

- (a) by the substitution in sub-subparagraph (b) of subparagraph (1) for the words "Head of each Department of Study" of the words "Head of each Department of Study";
- (b) by the substitution in sub-subparagraph (c) of subparagraph (1) for the word "Department" of the word "Department";
- (c) by the substitution in sub-subparagraph (f) of subparagraph (1) for the words "Department of Study" of the words "Department of Study";
- (d) by the repeal of sub-subparagraph (g) of subparagraph (1) and the substitution therefor of the following: -
  - "(g) Two members elected from among the permanent staff of the Institute engaged in teaching other than the members mentioned in paragraph (f); and

- (h) The Senior Assistant Librarian or the Head of the Library of the Institute, as the case may be.";
- (e) by the substitution in subparagraph (3) for the word and figure "paragraph 11" of the word and figure "paragraph 10"; and
- (8) by the repeal of paragraph 14 thereof and the substitution therefor of the following: -
  - "14. (1) There shall be Departments of Study in respect of the disciplines of-
    - (a) Carnatic Music;
    - (b) Dance, Drama and Theatre Arts;
    - (c) Visual and Technological Arts; and
    - (d) Information Technology.
  - (2) Each Department of Study shall have a Head of Department who shall be a Senior Professor, Professor, Associate Professor or Senior Lecturer and shall be appointed by the Board upon the recommendation of the Director.
  - (3) The Head of a Department shall hold office for a period of three years reckoned from the date of his appointment and shall, unless removed from office, be eligible for reappointment.
  - (4) Where owing to leave of absence, illness, or other cause, the Head of a Department is temporarily unable to perform the duties of his office for a period not exceeding three months, the Board shall appoint a Professor, Associate Professor or Senior Lecturer to act in the post of Head of Department for such period. Where however a Head of a Department retires or resigns, or is for other reasons is unable to perform the duties of his office for a period exceeding three months, the post of Head of Department shall be deemed to be vacant, and a new Head of Department shall be appointed in accordance with subparagraph (2)."

EOG 06 - 0125