

ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තුික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය

ాది రెండి The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

අංක 2441/32 - 2025 ජුනි මස 19 වැනි බුහස්පතින්දා - 2025.06.19 No. 2441/32 - THURSDAY, JUNE 19, 2025

(Published by Authority)

PART IV (B) — LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Local Government Notifications

FILLING OF A VACANCY IN THE OFFICE OF CHAIRMAN OF THE BALANGODA PRADESHIYA SABHA UNDER SECTION 66B(2) OF THE LOCAL AUTHORITIES ELECTIONS ORDINANCE (CHAPTER 262) AS AMENDED BY LOCAL AUTHORITIES ELECTION (AMENDMENT) ACT No. 16 OF 2017

WHEREAS the office of Chairman in Balangoda Pradeshiya Sabha has fallen vacant by reason of resignation;

AND WHEREAS the Secretary of the Jathika Jana Balawegaya, the recognized political party to which Durayalaya Ranjith Udaya Kumara the former chairman belonged, was required by me under Section 66B(2) of the aforesaid Ordinance, to decide upon the member of that Balangoda Pradeshiya Sabha who belongs to such party who shall be declared elected as Chairman within a period of thirty (30) days;

AND WHEREAS the Secretary of the aforesaid recognized political party has communicated his decision to nominate Gama Ethige Ariyadasa to fill such vacancy;

NOW THEREFORE I, Suranga Ambagahathenne Returning Officer of Balangoda Pradeshiya Sabha, acting in terms of Section 66B(2) of the Local Authorities Elections Ordinance (Chapter 262) as amended by Local Authorities Elections (Amendment) Act, No. 16 of 2017 do hereby declare Gama Ethige Ariyadasa elected as Chairman of the Balangoda Pradeshiya Sabha.

SURANGA AMBAGAHATHENNE, Returning Officer, Balangoda Pradeshiya Sabha.

19th of June 2025, District Election Office, Rathnapura.

EOG 06 - 0167

